On Aug. 15, 2016, the Texas Education Agency (TEA) released the 2016 state accountability ratings for more than 1,200 school districts and charters, as well as more than 8,600 campuses statewide. The ratings reveal that approximately 94 percent of school districts and charters across Texas have achieved the rating of Met Standard.

Districts, campuses, and charters receive one of three ratings under the accountability system: Met Standard, Met Alternative Standard, or Improvement Required. 

The 2016 ratings are based on a system that uses a range of indicators to provide greater detail about the performance of a district or charter and individual campuses throughout the state. The performance index framework includes four areas:

  • Student Achievement – Provides a snapshot of performance across all subjects
  • Student Progress – Measures year-to-year student progress by subject and student group
  • Closing Performance Gaps – Emphasizes the academic achievement of economically disadvantaged students and the lowest performing racial/ethnic student groups
  • Postsecondary Readiness – Emphasizes the importance of earning a high school diploma that provides students with the foundation necessary for success in college, the workforce, job training programs or the military

In order to earn a rating of Met Standard or Met Alternative Standard, a campus or district must meet the target on either Index 1 or Index 2 plus meet the targets on Index 3 and Index 4. For the 2015-2016 school year, the number of districts achieving a rating of Met Standard or Met Alternative Standard stayed relatively stable to the previous years.

Mequite ISD District Rating:


Campus Ratings:

All Mesquite ISD campuses received a rating of Met Standard for 2015-16.

*Met Standard Campuses

Achziger Elementary School

Austin Elementary School

Beasley Elementary School

Black Elementary School

Cannaday Elementary School

Florence Elementary School

Floyd Elementary School

Galloway Elementary School

Gentry Elementary School

Gray Elementary School

Hanby Elementary School

Henrie Elementary

Hodges Elementary School

Kimball Elementary School

Lawrence Elementary School

Mackey Elementary School

McKenzie Elementary School

McWhorter Elementary School

Moss Elementary School

Motley Elementary School

Pirrung Elementary School

Porter Elementary School

Price Elementary School

Range Elementary School

Rugel Elementary School

Rutherford Elementary School

Seabourn Elementary School

Shands Elementary School

Shaw Elementary School

Smith Elementary School

Thompson Elementary School

Tisinger Elementary School

Tosch Elementary School

Agnew Middle School

Berry Middle School

Kimbrough Middle School

McDonald Middle School

New Middle School

Terry Middle School

Vanston Middle School

Wilkinson Middle School

John Horn High School

Mesquite HIgh School

North Mesquite High School

Poteet High School

West Mesquite High School

Distinction Designations

Campuses that receive an accountability rating of Met Standard are also eligible for distinction designations. Distinction designations are awarded to campuses based on achievement on performance indicators compared to a group of 40 campuses of similar type, size and student demographics. There are seven possible distinctions; however, not all seven distinctions are possible at all campuses. For example, Academic Achievement in Social Studies is not available for elementary campuses.

The distinctions are:

  1. Top 25% Student Progress (based on Index 2)
  2. Top 25% Closing Achievement Gap (based on Index 3)
  3. Academic Achievement in Reading/Language Arts
  4. Academic Achievement in Math
  5. Academic Achievement in Science
  6. Academic Achievement in Social Studies
  7. Postsecondary Readiness

Terry and Wilkinson Middle Schools earn all possible distinctions in 2016 accountability ratings

Terry Middle School and Wilkinson Middle School are among more than 400 campuses statewide that achieved a Met Standard rating in the 2016 state accountability ratings also earned all distinction designations applicable to their individual school. 

“Earning one or more campus distinctions is noteworthy and should be a source of pride in a community,” said Commissioner of Education Mike Morath. “Earning all possible distinctions is a significant accomplishment and should signal to parents that there is extraordinary work taking place on that campus.”

Distinction designations are awarded to campuses based on achievement in performance indicators relative to a group of 40 campuses of similar type, size, and student demographics. Depending on campus grade levels and type, the number of potential distinction designations can vary. Up to seven distinction designations can be earned. 

To view the 2016 state accountability ratings and distinction designations for all districts, charters and campuses, visit the Texas Education Agency website at